Steins;Gate and Leeds International Film Festival

Steins;Gate

So over the past 3 days I’ve completed watching Steins;Gate. It had a lot of hype, and I get worried about shows with hype and usually put off watching them. Why? Because seldom do things live up to their name. Take Shingeki no Kyojin, for example. Probably the most overrated show this decade. Even things that are good – if they get overhyped then you’ll be left with a bitter taste in your mouth and will have enjoyed it less than you would have, had your expectations not been rose so high. I’ll go back to Evangelion again; 3.0 was only disappointing because of how good the ending of 2.0 was. I set my expectations too high, I wanted 3.0 to top it, and it didn’t. 3.0 isn’t that bad, but at the time I was thinking what the fuck is this shit!?

Steins;Gate


So, back to Steins;Gate. I’ve been putting it off for a while now. However, I’m going to the Leeds International Film Festival on the 17th and they’re showing the Steins;Gate movie. So I thought to myself I’d better watch it. And I regret nothing. Like everything, it wasn’t perfect. Then again, it wasn’t far off either. The opening, the soundtrack, the girls, the MC, the story – it was great. I’ll save the rest of my thoughts for a proper review sometime after I’ve let everything sink in. But if you’re reading this and you haven’t seen the series, I’d highly recommend you do something about that.

Leeds International Film Festival

The Fanomenon Anime Day is a week on Sunday. With 4 different English premieres and a 25th anniversary screening of Akira, it should be a good day. As well as the Steins;Gate movie I’m really looking forward to Patema Inverted. It’s by the director of Eve no Jikan, one of my favourite movies/ONA series. I’ve got really high expectations for this, hopefully I wont be dissapointed. HAL also looks interesting, and it’s been screened as a double bill with Kotonoha no Niwa, another movie I really enjoy by another one of my favourite directors; Shinkai Makoto. Not sure how I feel about watching romance with a bunch of other guys though. Hmm…

Fanomenon Anime Day
Fanomenon Anime Day schedule
Leave a Reply

